The International Cricket Council (ICC) declared the Women’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023 on Monday. Indian player Deepti Sharma made it to the team. Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu will lead the squad. Athapaththu had an outstanding 2023, starting with a great performance in the Women’s T20 World Cup, where she scored 68 runs from 50 balls and helped Sri Lanka beat South Africa by three runs.

In the T20 matches, Athapaththu scored 470 runs in 2023 with a strike rate of 130.91, hitting 15 sixes. Australian player Beth Mooney will be the wicketkeeper. Mooney played a crucial role in Australia winning the T20 World Cup, scoring 410 runs with an average of 41 and a strike rate of 120.58. 

South African batter Laura Wolvaardt was the second-highest run-scorer at the 2023 T20 World Cup, scoring 586 runs at an average of 45.

Caribbean player Hayley Matthews had an impressive year, being the top run-scorer in the 20-over format with 700 runs at an average of 63.63 and a strike rate of 132. 

She also took 19 wickets with an economy of 6.84. Matthews performed exceptionally well against Australia in the T20I series, scoring 99*, 132, and 79.

Also Read: Sharma And Vastrakar Give Australia A Tough Time In The Women’s Test Match

England’s Nat Sciver-Brunt scored 364 runs in the T20 format in 2023 with a strike rate of 136 and an average of 15.50. She played a crucial role in England’s T20 World Cup semi-final match against South Africa, scoring 40 runs from 34 balls.

New Zealand’s Amelia Kerr, Australia’s Ellyse Perry, Ash Gardner, and Megan Schutt, and England’s Sophie Ecclestone also made it to the ICC’s best-playing eleven. Deepti Sharma was the only Indian player in the team, scoring 106 runs in T20Is.

Women’s T20I Team of the Year for 2023: Chamari Athapaththu (Captain), Beth Mooney (Wicketkeeper), Laura Wolvaardt, Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Ellyse Perry, Ash Gardner, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Megan Schutt.