Kolkata Knight Riders Win IPL 2024

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have won their third Indian Premier League (IPL) title in 2024. They defeated the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 8 wickets in the final match. Gautam Gambhir, who rejoined the team with Shah Rukh Khan, helped KKR win another trophy.

Tournament Performance

KKR finished first in the points table with the highest net run rate ever seen in IPL history. They beat SRH twice, once in Qualifier 1 and then in the final, to secure the title.

  • Matches Played: 14
  • Matches Won: 9
  • Matches Lost: 3
  • No Result: 1
  • Standing: 1st place after the league stage

High Point

Mitchell Starc was the star player in both playoff matches for KKR. He took three and two wickets in the playoffs, making it hard for the opposing team to score. At the beginning of the tournament, Starc struggled but soon found his rhythm and became a top bowler again.

Low Point

KKR lost badly to the Punjab Kings at Eden Gardens one month before the final. Despite a strong 138-run partnership between Phil Salt and Sunil Narine, KKR posted a high score of 261/6. However, Jonny Bairstow’s century led Punjab Kings to chase the target and win by 8 wickets.


Shreyas Iyer led KKR to victory. He managed the team well and performed when needed. Many people credit Gautam Gambhir’s return for this success, and the players thanked the support staff after their win.

Most Valuable Player

Sunil Narine was the Most Valuable Player of IPL 2024. He scored 488 runs and took 17 wickets. He had 450 points, far ahead of the next-best player with 315.5 points. This season was Narine’s most productive.

Major Disappointment

Rinku Singh missed out on being part of the Indian team for the T20 World Cup, instead being named as a reserve player. He did not have a great tournament, scoring only 168 runs in 15 games with an average of 18.67.

Tournament Verdict

KKR was the best team throughout the tournament and deserved to win the IPL 2024 title. With Gautam Gambhir’s guidance, they secured their third IPL trophy, making Shah Rukh Khan and the KKR fans very happy.


Most RunsSunil Narine488 runs in 15 matches
Most WicketsVarun Chakaravarthy21 wickets in 15 matches
Highest Individual ScoreSunil Narine109* runs vs Rajasthan Royals
Best Bowling FiguresMitchell Starc4/33 vs Mumbai Indians