Who says unimportant matches are dull? Or not significant, for that matter? If people did, India and Afghanistan proved them wrong. In one of the most exciting T20I matches ever, the winner was decided by a double Super Over, the first time in international cricket history. 

Despite both teams scoring 212 in their 20 overs and 16 more in the first Super Over, there was still no winner. To break the tie, a second Super Over had to be played. India managed to stay calm and win in a T20I match for the ages.

Curious about who, what, how, where, and when? Don’t worry, we’ve got you covered. Although the infamous boundary count rule was eliminated after the 2019 World Cup final between England and New Zealand, there are aspects of the double Super Over rule that many people may not know. So relax and let us guide you through all the details.

Same Bowler Can’t Bowl Again

A bowler who has bowled in the first Super Over can’t bowl in the second one. That’s why Azmatullah Omarzai and Mukesh Kumar didn’t bowl in the second Super Over. After conceding 16 runs in the first Super Over, Afghanistan turned to Fareed Ahmed for the second. He conceded a six and a four but recovered well to limit India to 11. 

Captain Rohit Sharma’s decision to use leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi in an unexpected move paid off, as he took two wickets in three balls to secure India’s victory.

Batting Switch

The team that batted first in the regular 20 overs has to bat second in the Super Over, and vice versa. Afghanistan batted first after scoring 212/6 to match India’s 212/4. Since India batted second in the main game, they batted first in the first Super Over. In summary, in Super Overs, no team can bat first or chase in consecutive innings.

Batting Order

According to the MCC laws, a player dismissed in the first Super Over cannot bat in the second. Both teams finalize a list of batters before the Super Over starts. If a batter listed for the first Super Over didn’t bat or wasn’t dismissed, they can bat in the second. If a player is retired hurt, they can also bat again.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: ICC Reveals Current Stadium Plans For The New York Venue Of The IND Vs. PAK Match

Tactical Calls

India chose Sanju Samson over Yashasvi Jaiswal for tactical reasons. Rinku Singh batted in the second Super Over since he remained not out in the first after replacing Rohit Sharma. The confusion about Rohit’s batting arises from the difference between being retired and retired ‘out’. Rohit had ‘retired out,’ implying he shouldn’t have batted, but he did.

Third Super Over

If the second Super Over is also a tie, then we go for a third Super Over. This can continue until a winner is decided. Before this match, there have been two instances of a match being decided in a double Super Over – the IPL 2020 fixture between Mumbai Indians and Punjab Kings was the first.